By-election: Toronto--St. Paul's

By-election: Toronto--St. Paul's

Voters in Toronto--St. Paul's have elected a Conservative for the first time since 1988 -- with Don Stewart narrowly defeating Liberal candidate Leslie Church in the race to succeed longtime Liberal MP Carolyn Bennett.

Watch reaction from the prime minister and finance minister:

Watch our by-election preview:

Tonda MacCharles, Ottawa bureau chief for the Toronto Star, visited the riding and shared her impressions with Michael Serapio on PrimeTime Politics. (June 18) 

Dozens of protest candidates are on the ballot -- leaving the riding's 84,668 eligible voters with 84 names to choose from.

Here are the registered party candidates:

Leslie Church Liberal
Don Stewart Conservative
Amrit Parhar
Christian Cullis
Dennis Wilson
Meñico Turcotte
Ali Mohiuddin
Danny Légaré
Sean Carson 

About Toronto--St. Paul's

Toronto--St. Paul's, formerly known as St. Paul's, has elected Liberals and Conservatives over the past 90 years. The list includes a former Governor General and House speaker (Roland Michener), and former cabinet ministers (Barbara MacDougall, John Roberts, Ron Atkey). 

Bennett had easily won recent elections since the last riding redistribution:

Toronto--St. Paul's will look different in the next general election, thanks to the boundary adjustment process that takes place every decade.

The Ontario commission initially renamed the riding St. Clair—Mount Pleasant and proposed major boundary changes. Both "were ill-received by the public," according to the final report.

338Canada projected 2021 results onto the new map: Liberal 49.5% / Conservative 26.5% / NDP 15.9%. 

Watch More